Aaj Tak, NDTV, Times News live streaming Election Results 2019 on Thursday

Indian Election results live on Aaj Tak
Indian Election results live on Aaj Tak (Image via AAj Tak)

The Election Commission of India will start the counting of votes for the 17th Lok Sabha elections on May 23, 2019 (Thursday) at 8 PM IST. The results will be beamed live on all TV networks like NDTV, CNN-IBN, NewsNow, Aaj Tak, and India Today. The results are expected to show clear trends by 12 Noon.

9:30 AM IST: Leads

NDA: 311

UPA: 102

NA: 92

Exit polls from the three states in the Hindi hinterland point out that the BJP has made over the losses it sustained in the assembly elections only three months back.

Madhya Pradesh is one of the critical states for the saffron brigade, and its shock defeat in the assembly elections led it back to the drawing board. While the BJP started pressing the right buttons, the Congress got it all wrong.

Watch Aaj Tak News live coverage of results


Wooing the upper caste votes

The upper caste factor is essential in the three states of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chattisgarh, and they have traditionally supported the BJP. However, statements of former MP CM, Shivraj Singh Chauhan that no one can stop reservation to the backward class angered this critical section of the BJP support base. Realizing this, the central government quickly brought the reservation bill for the economically weaker part of the society and helped to bring the upper caste votes in their favor once again.

Watch CNN News 18 live


Overconfidence proved Congress’ folly.

Before the elections to the three assemblies, Rahul Gandhi was never rated high by any opposition leader, especially firebrand leaders like Ms. Mamta Bannerjee and Chandra Babu Naidu. Things, however, changed after the assembly elections and the press which wrongly fed the public information that finally there is someone who can take on PM Modi head on. This even though the margin of victory was skinny for the Congress and the BJP had a higher vote percentage than the Congress.

Where his predecessors fumbled Modi Succeeded

Modi did not repeat the mistakes did by his predecessors by advancing the elections and instead started doing amends after the loss in three assembly states. Bombastic statements by Congress leaders like Digvijay Singh, who has in the past often put the party in tight spots only helped Modi. The communal angle which was nonexistent a few months back was once again brought into sharp focus with the party putting Sadhvi Pragya Thakur who is an accused in the Malegaon blasts against Digvijay Singh who was the biggest propagator of the Hindu Terror theory.

Previous articleMedical tourism attracts foreigners to India
Next articleHow Much Should I Blog?
Parasshuram Shalgar is a skilled news editor with more than twelve years of experience. Parasshuram previously wrote for the Examiner.com where he specialized in the topics of Entertainment and Sports and earned a spot on the site’s Top 5. At present, he is a columnist, video creator, and senior editor for Blasting News US, India and UK. He also owns and operates the website www.panasiabiz.com. His articles on various websites have been circulated to well over 60+ million visitors across the globe. Parasshuram lives in Hubli, India, and keeps his finger on the pulse of pop culture. He is an avid cricket fan during the week and a movie buff on weekends and has ample experience recruiting and training writers who specialize in a range of topics. Parasshuram is also a husband and a father of three.